Tourism Commission

About the Commission

The tourism commission advises the city's executive branch on the promotion of tourism and conventions. The commission also carries out related tasks assigned by the mayor. Members include one representative per city ward, appointed by the mayor and approved by the council; the Greenwood-Leflore Chamber of Commerce's executive director (permanent chairman); the chairman of the Chamber's tourism committee; the president of the Greenwood-Leflore industrial board; the director of the Greenwood-Leflore Civic Center; a representative of the Greenwood-Leflore Hotel Assocation; and a representative of the Greenwood Restaurant Association.


  • Toni Powers, Ward 1
  • Tim Tyler, Ward 2
  • Carl Cates, Ward 3
  • Liz King, Ward 4
  • Cyndi Long, Ward 5
  • Brittney Gray, Ward 6
  • Jackie Glass Davis, Ward 7

Convention & Tourism Bureau Appointments

  • Jean Cadney, GLCEDF 
  • Abigail Newsome, Mississippi Valley State University
  • Andrew McQueen, Leflore County Civic Center 
  • Lindsey Uithoven, Hotel Association (Chairman) 
  • Ben Cox, Restaurant Association (Vice Chairman)
  • Lisa Smith, Chamber Of Commerce (Ex-Officio)
  • Brantley Snipes, Museum of the Mississippi Delta (Ex-Officio)

Members representing Wards 1-7 serve one-year terms, and the remaining members serve as long as they hold the positions they represent. Terms expire December 31.

If you are interested in applying for a vacancy, you may apply online or contact the Office of the Mayor for an application form.

Meeting Information

Meetings held the second Monday of each month at 4:00 pm. at 225 Howard Street.
Add to Report View Report

As you navigate our website, you can use the “Add Page to Report” button to add any page or property to a custom report that you can print out or save.