Stations and Equipment
Fire Department History
On November 6, 1906 a resolution was passed by the City of Greenwood establishing the Greenwood Fire Department. In 1906 the fire department consisted of three individuals. The first piece of fire equipment purchased by the City of Greenwood was a 40 gallon horse-drawn fire wagon. The city's first fire station was located at the intersection of Carrollton Avenue and Howard Street. Since its inception, there have been 18 fire chiefs to oversee the Greenwood Fire Department.
Fire StationsThe city's first fire station was located at the intersection of Carrollton Avenue and Howard Street. When City Hall was built in its current location in 1930, Fire Station #1 was moved to Main Street as part of that project.
Fire Station #2 was originally built on Carrollton Avenue in 1913 and was reconstructed in the same location in 1935 as part of President Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal.
Fire Station #3 was built on Claiborne Avenue in 1951 to serve the residents of North Grenwood, but it was relocated to Tallahatchie Street in 1999. The original Fire Station #3 building still stands, but is not in use.
Fire Station #4, which also serves as the Greenwood Fire Department's training center, was built in 1977 and is located on Mississippi Highway 7 North.
Personnel & Equipment
The Greenwood Fire Department employs 55 personnel who work in three shifts. Each shift consists of 17 fire suppression personnel operating out of four fire stations. Fire suppression personnel work 24 hour shifts, commonly called 24/48. The Fire Department boasts six frontline fire apparatus, which consists of three engines, two ladder trucks, and one rescue apparatus.