Greenwood has seven districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The downtown area encompasses two of the seven: the Central Commercial and Railroad Historic District and the Cotton Row District. Downtown Greenwood, one of Mississippi’s most intact commercial centers of the 21st century, is a tourist attraction by virtue of the character of its buildings, location, selections of unique businesses, and events.
View our walking tour guide for a list of historical places and a brief description about each of them.
- Viking Corporate Headquarters occupies two complete blocks on Front Street and is a National Main Street award-winning building restoration. The buildings include the Greenwood Opera House, several cotton factor offices and former clubs. In the cotton hey-day, Greenwood had 19 saloons on its river-front.
- Staplcotn Cooperative markets one-fifth of the cotton grown in North America and is located in downtown.
- The Keesler Bridge last turned to allow river traffic to pass in the early 1950's. It took four men to turn the mechanism. A large crowd gathered on the banks of the Yazoo River to watch the event.
- Fountain’s Department Store, now housing the Mississippi Gift Company, Turnrow Book Company and The Fountain Apartments, cost $37,000 to build in 1914.
- The Confederate Memorial Building, built in 1911, is one of only two buildings of its kind in the United States and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
- Built in 1898, Gwin’s Law Office on Front Street is thought to be the oldest building in Greenwood.
- Yazoo means River of Death in Choctaw.