Click to Home
Explore Greenwood
Go To Search
Tourism Commission
About the Commission
The tourism commission advises the city's executive branch on the promotion of tourism and conventions. The commission also carries out related tasks assigned by the mayor. Members include one representative per city ward, appointed by the mayor and approved by the council; the Greenwood-Leflore Chamber of Commerce's executive director (permanent chairman); the chairman of the Chamber's tourism committee; the president of the Greenwood-Leflore industrial board; the director of the Greenwood-Leflore Civic Center; a representative of the Greenwood-Leflore Hotel Assocation; and a representative of the Greenwood Restaurant Association.

  • Toni Powers, Ward 1
  • Tim Tyler, Ward 2
  • Ulysses Carl Cates, Ward 3
  • Marlene Johnson, Ward 4
  • La'Teisha Love Farmer, Ward 5
  • Dorothy Huggons, Ward 6
  • Ruthie McDonald, Ward 7

Convention & Tourism Bureau Appointments
  • Bill Crump, GLCEDF
  • Gere Stansel, Museum of the Mississippi Delta (At Large)
  • Andrew McQueen, Leflore County Civic Center (Chairman)
  • Marc Hutson, Chamber Of Commerce
  • Suresh Chawla, Hotel Association
  • Steve Lavere, Restaurant Association

Members representing Wards 1-7 serve one-year terms, and the remaining members serve as long as they hold the positions they represent. Terms expire December 31.

If you are interested in applying for a vacancy, you may apply online or contact the Office of the Mayor for an application form. 

Meeting Information 
Meetings held the second Monday of each month at 4:00 pm.